Thomas Tomkins (1572-1656)


Born in Pembrokeshire, Tomkins is the last English composer in the Renaissance tradition. By 1596 he had been appointed Organist of Worcester Cathedral, a position he later held simultaneously with that of Gentleman of the Chapel Royal. He produced a great deal of sacred music for these choirs including funeral music for Prince Henry (d. 1612) and several anthems for the Coronation of Charles I. Worcester was a major battleground in the English Civil War (1642-51) and the Cathedral (including the organ) was desecrated by Parliamentary forces (Tomkins’ own house also suffered a direct canon shot). Following the disbandment of the Cathedral Choir, Tomkins turned his attention to keyboard and consort music, including his Sad Pavan for these distracted times written in the immediate aftermath of the execution of Charles I. Much of his sacred music was published posthumously by his son Nathaniel in Musica Deo Sacra et Ecclesiae Anglicanae (1668).

My beloved spake –
TrTrTBarB(B) + Org. or
SSATB(B) + Org.

£5.50 per 10 copies

O praise the Lord –

£11.00 per 10 copies

Coming soon

Arise, O Lord God, lift up thine hand – ATBarBarB or SATTB

Be strong and of a good courage – AATTBarBB or SSAATBB

O Lord, I have loved – ATTBarB or SAATB

Then David mourned – AATBarB or SSATB

Turn thou us, O good Lord – ATBarB or SATB

When David heard – ATTBarB or SAATB