Hieronymus Praetorius (1560-1629)


Hieronymus Praetorius was one of the leading composers of the late 16th and early 17th centuries, years that spanned the transition from the Renaissance to the Baroque era. He was born in Hamburg into a musical family and spent most of his career in the city. Initially he studied in Cologne and then was active in Erfurt from 1580 but in 1582 returned to Hamburg, assuming the role of organist of the Jacobikirche following the death of his own father in 1586 (a position he held for the rest of his life). His first published compositions appeared in 1599 and this collection features among the first pieces by a North German composer to use the progressive Venetian style. Indeed much of his music is written for 8 voices or more and is impressive in its scale, showing the influence of other contemporary German composers, such as Michael Praetorius (no relation) and Hans Leo Hassler, as well as Italians of the Venetian tradition. Besides his vocal music, he left a substantial body of music for the organ and also compiled chorale collections with organ accompaniment – the first composer to do so.

Hieronymous Praetorius Missa Angelus ad pastores SATB.SATB

Missa Angelus ad pastores – 

£16.50 per 10 copies

Coming soon

Missa Tulerunt Dominum – SATB.SATB